Latest News

National News

Daylight savings ends on Sunday morning

Most Australians will lose an extra hour of evening sunlight from Sunday, with the trade-off being an additional hour of sleep as daylight savings comes to an end.

Analogue clocks need to be manually turned back an hour at 3am, giving NSW, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia and the ACT an extra hour of the Easter long weekend.

Most smartphone devices and computers will automatically adjust the time.

The change means the entire east coast is again one time zone, with South Australia and the Northern Territory half an hour behind, and Western Australia two hours behind.

Australia now has three active time zones: Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST), Australian Central Standard Time (ACST) and Australian Western Standard Time (AWST).

Daylight savings has been a feature of Australian life for 50 years.

While Queensland, Western Australia and the Northern Territory have not adopted the scheme, each has trialled it before.

Daylight savings will begin again on the first Sunday of October when clocks move forward by one hour from 2am.

© AAP 2021